Nina E. Schönefeld 

  • Instagram

CV Nina E. Schönefeld was born in Berlin. She is half Polish and half German. She studied at the University of Arts in Berlin (UDK) and at the Royal College of Art in London. Since several years she has given lectures in Fine Art at private Art Colleges. Together with Marina Wilde she founded "Last Night In Berlin" a cultural project/blog that documents art openings in Berlin. She holds a Master of Arts and a PhD in Art Theory (Dr. Phil.). Schönefeld lives and works in Berlin (& sometimes in Ibiza).

 

 

For the exhibition CONTEMPLATIO, artist Nina E. Schönefeld is currently producing her own video. As a result of social distancing regulations, she follows current world developments in near-isolation. In her studio, the video artist creates a subjective future based on a large pool of research material that places us in the year 2023. With the title N. O. R. O. C. 2. 3., life under a worldwide pandemic is displayed through dismal images. It is about feeling constant, panic-inducing insecurity from an invisible threat. Historical quotations, passages from novels, series and films, political speeches, and media reports from different periods of our history are put together in a kind of collage to form an atmospheric image. This narrative is accompanied by intense scenes, all of which take place at night. In the center: four protagonists roaming through empty cities, whose silence conveys a deceptive feeling. Searching for a way out, they do not know what the next day will bring. Schönefeld's optimistic balance at the end of the video: from stasis and standstill, something new will arise.  

Along with N. O. R. O. C. 2. 3., her textile sculpture #Preppercoat from 2016 is shown. The term "prepper" refers to survivalists who actively prepare for emergencies and crises, including possible disturbances of the social and political order. The work was first presented during Manifesta/Manifestina 2016 (curated by Christian Jankowski and Maurizio Cattelan) in Zurich. #Preppercoat was part of the performance series "Some Demonstrations" by Charlie Stein. At the end of the performance series, Charlie Stein disappeared in a golden coat from a helicopter base in the Swiss Alps. Schönfeld carries everything a real prepper needs to survive when on the run: toothbrush, alcohol, weapons, tools, prepaid phones, and gold coins...

Text: Barbara Green, Photo: Oliver Jackel (Portrait & art works)

@2020 / contemplatio / Berlin

Nina E. Schönefeld 

  • Instagram

KURZVITA Nina E. Schönefeld wurde in Berlin geboren. Sie ist halb Polin und halb Deutsche. Sie studierte an der Universität der Künste in Berlin (UDK) und am Royal College of Art in London. Seit einigen Jahren hält sie an privaten Kunsthochschulen Vorlesungen im Fachbereich Bildende Kunst. Zusammen mit Marina Wilde gründete sie "Last Night In Berlin", ein Kulturprojekt/Blog, das Kunst-Eröffnungen in Berlin dokumentiert. Sie hat einen Master of Arts und einen Doktortitel in Kunsttheorie (Dr. Phil.). Schönefeld lebt und arbeitet in Berlin (& manchmal auf Ibiza).

 

 

Für die Ausstellung CONTEMPLATIO produziert die Künstlerin Nina E. Schönefeld momentan ein eigenes Video. Durch die angeordnete Kontaktsperre, verfolgt sie – vorwiegend isoliert von der Außenwelt – die aktuellen Weltentwicklungen. In ihrem Studio kreiert die Videokünstlerin daraus (plus aus einem großen Fundus an Recherchematerial) eine subjektive Zukunftsversion, in dem sie die Handlung ins Jahr 2023 verlegt. Unter dem Titel N. O. R. O. C. 2. 3. wird das Leben, während einer weltweiten pandemischen Krise, in düsteren Bildern transportiert. Es geht um das Gefühl der ständigen Unsicherheit und einer Panik stiftenden, unsichtbaren Bedrohung. Historische Zitate, Passagen aus Romanen, Serien und Filmen, politische Reden und Medienberichte aus unterschiedlichen Epochen unserer Geschichte werden, in einer Art Collage, zu einem Stimmungsbild zusammengesetzt. Dieser narrative Aspekt des Videos wird begleitet von starken Szenen, die alle bei Nacht spielen. Im Mittelpunkt: vier Protagonistinnen, die durch entleerte Städte streifen, deren Stille ein trügerisches Gefühl vermittelt. Auf der Suche nach einem Ausweg wissen sie nicht, was der nächste Tag mit sich bringt. Schönefelds optimistische Bilanz am Ende des Videos: Aus dem Stillstand erwächst Neues. 

Neben der Videoarbeit N. O. R. O. C. 2. 3. wird die Textilskulptur #Preppercoat aus dem Jahre 2016 gezeigt. Der Begriff "Prepper" bezieht sich auf Überlebenskünstler, die sich aktiv auf Notfälle vorbereiten, einschließlich möglicher Störungen der sozialen oder politischen Ordnung. Die Arbeit wurde während der Manifesta/Manifestina 2016 (kuratiert von Christian Jankowski und Maurizio Cattelan) in Zürich zum ersten Mal präsentiert. #Preppercoat war dort Teil der Performance-Serie »Some Demonstrations« von Charlie Stein. Am Ende der Performance-Serie verschwand Charlie Stein im goldenen Mantel von einem Hubschrauber-Stützpunkt in den Schweizer Alpen – dabei hat sie alles, was ein echter Prepper zum Überleben braucht, wenn er auf der Flucht ist: Zahnbürste, Alkohol, Waffen, Werkzeuge, Prepaid-Telefone und Goldmünzen... 

Text: Barbara Green, Foto: Oliver Jackel (Portrait & art works)

@2020 / contemplatio / Berlin