Manfred Peckl 

  • Instagram

CV The Austrian artist Manfred Peckl (*1968) lives and works in Berlin. From 1988-1990 he studied at the University of Art and Design in Linz, followed by the Städelschule in Frankfurt under Professor Raimer Jochims. The starting point for Peckl's works are maps and advertising posters from public space, which he cuts into even strips with a shredder and then sorts them according to color. In the summer term 2004 and winter term 2005 he had a teaching assignment for "New Forms of Painting" at the Academy of Fine Arts in Mainz. In 2017 Peckl was deputy professor for painting at the Academy of Fine Arts in Karlsruhe.   

 

 

One imagines the typical painter using brushes and paints; Manfred Peckl replaces these materials with artistic recycling. Advertising posters and maps are filleted into pieces, rearranged, and assembled anew. With brushes and glue, he creates landscapes, seascapes, and island paradises, which, at first glance, lead the viewer astray. With destruction as his point of departure, Peckl takes advertising posters, complete with their suggestive slogans and far-reaching promises, by the scruff of their neck and uses colour and form to create an entirely new visual language of an anarchistic world in the moment of calm after the storm. 

“A promise of paradise, large as a billboard, is the starting point for the image. The advertising poster of a tourism company is disassembled into its individual motif parts and rearranged. The images of the holiday industry are here both material and motif for the transformation to art. Exoticism is exorcised. The poetry of the globally synchronized dream is confronted with the poetry of a herald of doom that is still hidden. FUCK as soon as the jungle is entered: FUCK when you leave your comfort zone. Anxieties are let loose by repeating elements. That which is so familiar to us, and the certainty of the world as a commodity—constant and available—is exposed as a purely self-generating system. Now that the system is trying to save itself, it must search beyond the system. The ordinarily fast-paced world, this surface of consumption is taking a break, and now we can penetrate into the depths, change structures, rearrange them. Self-limitation as opportunity. Art rules!”

Artist's statement by Manfred Peck on his work »Kunst im öffentlichen Traum«. 

Text: Barbara Green, Photo: Meike Kenn

@2020 / contemplatio / Berlin

Manfred Peckl 

  • Instagram

KURZVITA Der österreichische Künstler Manfred Peckl (*1968) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Von 1988-1990 studierte er an der Hochschule für Kunst und Gestaltung in Linz, darauf folgend an der Städelschule in Frankfurt bei Professor Raimer Jochims. Ausgangspunkt für Peckls Arbeiten sind Landkarten und Werbeplakate aus dem öffentlichen Raum, die er mit dem Schredder in gleichmäßige Streifen schneidet und sie dann nach Farben sortiert. Im SS 2004 und WS 2005 hatte er einen Lehrauftrag für »Neue Formen der Malerei« an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Mainz. 2017 war Peckl Vertretungsprofessur für Malerei an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Karlsruhe.  

 

 

Den typischen Maler stellt man sich mit Pinsel und Farben vor, Manfred Peckl ersetzt diese Materialien durch die künstlerische Strategie der Wiederverwertung, indem er Reklameplakate oder Landkarten in ihre Einzelteile filetiert und neu zusammensetzt. Mit Pinsel und Kleister erschafft er Landschaften, Seestücke und Inselparadiese, die im ersten Moment den Betrachter in die Irre leiten. Mit der Zerstörung als Ausgangspunkt, geht Peckl Werbeplakaten, mit ihren vielsagenden Slogans und weitreichenden Versprechungen, an den Kragen und kreiert mit Farbe und Form eine vollkommen neue Bildsprache, eine anarchistische Welt im Moment der Ruhe nach dem Sturm. 

»Ein Paradiesversprechen, großformatig als Plakat im öffentlichen Raum geschworen, ist Ausgangspunkt für das Bild. Das Werbeplakat eines Touristikunternehmens wird in seine motivischen Einzelteile zerlegt und neu arrangiert. Die Bilder der Ferienindustrie sind hier gleichermaßen Material und Motiv für die Transformation zur Kunst. Der Exotismus wird exorziert. Die Poesie des global gleichgeschalteten Traums wird mit der auf den ersten Blick noch verborgenen Poesie einer Unheilsankündigung konfrontiert. FUCK sobald der Urwald betreten wird: FUCK, sobald die Komfortzone verlassen wird. Sich wiederholende Elemente irritieren. Das uns so Vertraute, die Gewissheit der ständig allgemein verfügbaren Ware Welt ist entlarvt als rein systemimmanentes Angebot. Jetzt, da das System sich selbst zu retten sucht, muss die eigene Suche über das System hinaus gehen. Die sich sonst schnell drehende Welt als Konsumoberfläche macht Pause, wir können nun eindringen in die Tiefen, Strukturen verändern, neu arrangieren. Die neue Selbstbeschränkung ist eine Chance. Art rules!«
 

Künstlerstatement von Manfred Peck zu seiner Arbeit »Kunst im öffentlichen Traum«. 

Text: Barbara Green, Foto: Meike Kenn

@2020 / contemplatio / Berlin