Birte Bosse  

  • Instagram

CV Birte Bosse (*1984) grew up in Worpswede and in Kuhstedtermoor. In 2006 she graduated from the Fachoberschule für Produktdesign und Kunst in Bremen, in 2012 she received her diploma from the Hochschule der Künste in Braunschweig, where she studied with Friedemann von Stockhausen, Thomas Rentmeister and Bogomir Ecker. In 2013 she was a master student of Bogomir Ecker. In 2019 she was awarded a scholarship to study at the RMIT University Melbourne in Australia. The artist lives and works in Berlin.

 

 

 

Birte Bosse comes into contact with the visual arts at an early age. Training her senses are discussions about art with her father, also an artist, and interactions with the sculptural quality of the dental models of her mother, a dental technician with an equally artistic talent. From childhood, on through her studies and up to the present day, one theme is significant for the artist's work: the examination of the line. For the time being, this is done in sketches, drawings, and paintings. Parallel to this, having at first gone unnoticed by Bosse, is sculpture as a means of construction.  

In 2019, on a four-month trip across Southeast Asia, the artist encounters self-made shop signs and merchandise stands at markets and in front of small shops. Looking back, the bent and welded lines of the iron bars inspire her to transport her drawings into space. Back in Berlin, the creative process starts intuitively and becomes more concrete with time. The idea of bringing the lightness of her drawings to sculpture ultimately becomes the leitmotif of the new series of works. Twenty-four human-looking metal sculptures are created, which, under the title LE SQUAD, are shown for the first time in the Gisela Clement Gallery in Bonn. As in a family, the group of works is made of the same material, but at the same time composed of many individual personalities, all of whom are given a name by Bosse, each descriptive of their character.

But now individuals are isolated from the group - "The Farmer," "The Musician," and "The Confused" move into the rooms of the online exhibition CONTEMPLATIO. Looking at the three figures, one becomes aware of a personal and warm aura - a contrast to the cold material of steel. "The Farmer" seems like a tragic and comical figure in the form of a rake that collapses from exhaustion. "The Musician" is reminiscent of a tuning fork and, with its size and thin body, has something gangly about it, and "The Confused" seems to be continually revolving around itself. Through their humanity and the narrative nature of their appearances, all three enter into direct communication with the viewers. 

Text: Barbara Green, Photo: Meike Kenn

@2020 / contemplatio / Berlin

Birte Bosse 

  • Instagram

KURZVITA Birte Bosse (*1984) wuchs in Worpswede und in Kuhstedtermoor auf. 2006 erhielt sie Ihren Abschluss der Fachoberschule für Produktdesign und Kunst in Bremen, 2012 ihr Diplom der Hochschule der Künste in Braunschweig, dort studierte sie bei Friedemann von Stockhausen, Thomas Rentmeister und Bogomir Ecker und machte 2013 den Meisterschüler bei Bogomir Ecker. 2019 brachte sie ein Stipendium an der RMIT-Universität Melbourne nach Australien. Die Künstlerin lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

 

 

 

Birte Bosse kommt schon früh in Kontakt mit bildender Kunst, die Diskussion über Kunst mit ihrem Künstler-Vater sowie die skulptural anmutenden Dental-Modelle ihrer Mutter, einer Zahntechnikerin mit ebenfalls künstlerischer Begabung, schulen ihre Sinne. Von der Kindheit, über das Studium und bis in die Gegenwart ist ein Thema signifikant für das Werk der Künstlerin: die Auseinandersetzung mit der Linie. Das geschieht vorerst in Skizzen, Zeichnungen und Malereien. Parallel dazu existiert das Konstruktionsmittel ebenfalls in der Skulptur, von Bosse vorerst unbemerkt. 

2019, bei einem vier monatigen Trip quer durch Südost-Asien, begegnen der Künstlerin auf Märkten und vor kleinen Shops, selbstgebaute Ladenschilder und Warenständer. Die gebogenen und geschweißten Linien der Eisenstangen inspirieren sie rückblickend dazu, ihre Zeichnungen in den Raum zu transportieren. Zurück in Berlin, startet der kreative Prozess intuitiv und wird mit der Zeit konkreter. Die Idee, die Leichtigkeit ihrer Zeichnungen in die Skulptur zu bringen, wird letztendlich zum Leitmotiv der neuen Werkserie. Es entstehen vierundzwanzig menschlich anmutende Metall-Skulpturen die, unter dem Titel LE SQUAD, erstmals in der Galerie Gisela Clement in Bonn gezeigt werden. Wie in einer Familie besteht die Werkgruppe aus demselben Material, setzt sich gleichzeitig aber aus vielen individuellen Persönlichkeiten zusammen, die bei Bosse alle einen Namen erhalten, der Ihren Charakter beschreibt.

 

Doch nun werden Einzelne von der Gruppe isoliert – »Der Farmer«, »der Musiker« und »die Verwirrte« begeben sich in die Räumlichkeiten der Online-Ausstellung CONTEMPLATIO. Betrachtet man die drei Figuren, wird man einer persönlichen und warmen Aura gewahr – ein Gegensatz zum kalten Material des Stahls. »Der Farmer« wirkt wie eine tragisch- komische Figur in Form einer Harke, die vor Erschöpfung in sich zusammensinkt. »Der Musiker« erinnert an eine Stimmgabel und hat mit seiner Größe und dem dünnen Körper etwas Schlaksiges an sich und »die Verwirrte« scheint sich permanent um sich selbst zu drehen. Alle drei treten, durch ihre Menschlichkeit und das Erzählerische ihrer Erscheinungen, in direkte Kommunikation mit den Betrachtern. 

Text: Barbara Green, Foto: Meike Kenn

@2020 / contemplatio / Berlin